top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaties in Cuba

January 20: 1 Sunday, 4 perspectives

Megan Cahill

A rainy day in Havana.


I started the day by going to an upscale restaurant for breakfast. The bells on the church across the street rang so loudly- I didn’t know churches still used real bells. They do here, I guess.


Then the down pour started. I love a good rain storm, and this was a good one. The umbrellas we were sitting under began to fill with water and then spill over. I wish I could’ve gone walking, but a friend told me that she was walking during a rainstorm in Havana and misjudged the quickness of the rain water through the streets. She was knocked over and lost her shoe. Yuck. The streets are full of dog crap and garbage, I would not want to submerge into that or walk barefoot. The public health hazard that is the garbage here, and the flies coming from the garbage: I’m wondering what diseases might be transmitted this way.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page